Home / / Tennis / Serena Williams wins seventh Wimbledon

Serena Williams wins seventh Wimbledon

serena williamsSerena Williams has powered to her seventh Wimbledon crown as the world number one finally claimed a record-equalling 22nd major title with a 7-5, 6-3 victory over Angelique Kerber in Saturday’s final.

Williams had been stuck on 21 grand slams since winning last year’s Wimbledon, but the American star ended that frustrating barren spell to retain the title and draw level with Steffi Graf’s Open era record.

Williams was pushed hard by Kerber in a high-quality clash lasting 81 minutes on Centre Court, but the German fourth seed eventually crumbled under a barrage of 39 winners and 13 aces from the defending champion.


1998 – Third Round: lost to Virginia Ruano-Pascual in straight sets (retired)
1999 – Did not play
2000 – Semifinal: lost to Venus Williams in straight sets
2001 – Quarterfinal: lost to Jennifer Capriati in three sets
2002 – Champion: defeated Venus Williams in straight sets
2003 – Champion: defeated Venus Williams in three sets
2004 – Final: lost to Maria Sharapova in straight sets
2005 – Third Round: lost to Jill Craybas in straight sets
2006 – Did not play
2007 – Quarterfinal: lost to Justine Henin in three sets
2008 – Final: lost to Venus Williams in straight sets
2009 – Champion: defeated Venus Williams in straight sets
2010 – Champion: defeated Vera Zvonareva in straight sets
2011 – Fourth Round: lost to Marion Bartoli in straight sets
2012 – Champion: defeated Agnieszka Radwanska in three sets
2013 – Fourth Round: lost to Sabine Lisicki in three sets
2014 – Third Round: lost to Alize Cornet in three sets
2015 – Champion: defeated Garbine Muguruza in straight sets
2016 – Champion: defeated Angelique Kerber in straight sets

Leave a Reply


Check Also

Serena Williams

US Open 2013: No. 1 Serena Williams, No. 2 Victoria Azarenka reach final

Defending champion world no.1 seed Serena Williams will face wold no.2 seed ...

Andy Murray

Murray enters US Open quarter-finals

US Open 2013: On Thursday, Andy Murray beat Uzbekistan’s Denis Istomin in ...