Home / News / Asia / Amit Shah re-elected BJP president for second term

Amit Shah re-elected BJP president for second term

NEW DELHI: BJP chief Amit Shah was re-elected the party president for a second term on Sunday after top party leaders led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed his name.

Top BJP veterans including LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, now members of the party’s Margdarshak Mandal, skipped the nomination process and Shah’s subsequent felicitation at 11, Ashoka Road headquarters of the BJP in New Delhi.

A bevy of Union ministers and chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states proposed the name of Shah, who filed 17 sets of nomination papers for an election whose outcome was a foregone conclusion. Among those who proposed Shah’s name were Union ministers Rajnath Singh, JP Nadda, M Venkaiah Naidu and Anant Kumar.

Many BJP chief ministers including Vasundhara Raje, Raghubar Das, Shivraj Singh Chauhan also proposed his name.

The BJP parliamentary board is scheduled to meet on January 28 to welcome Shah into his new term. This will be the first full term, which is for three years, for the close confidant of Modi.


Leave a Reply


Check Also

Pakistan kills more than 100 militants

ISLAMABAD: A day after an Islamic State group (IS) bomber killed nearly ...

Need ‘solid evidence’ on Masood Azhar: China

BEIJING: Ahead of its strategic dialogue with India, China on Friday said ...