Home / Current Affairs / Mumbai Marathon: Biggies on a different track

Mumbai Marathon: Biggies on a different track

Ethiopians Tesfaye Abera, a rank outsider, and defending champion Dinknesh Mekash clinched the men’s and women’s titles, respectively, and the top prize of $ 41,000 in the 12th Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon on Sunday.

Abera finished in two hours, 9 minutes, 46 seconds, which is 14 seconds slower than the course record. Among the Indian men, last year’s topper Karan Singh retained his position as the best finisher by clocking 2:21:35 to finish overall 11th.

India’s seasoned track athlete O P Jaisha, running her maiden marathon, and steeplechaser Lalita Babar, last year’s fastest Indian woman finisher, took the eighth and ninth slots, with Jaisha also breaking a 19-year-old national mark in the process.


Check Also

Pakistan players target first World Cup win against India

If you talk to any Pakistani player ahead of Sunday’s clash against ...

Sunanda case: Tharoor quizzed once again

Congress MP Shashi Tharoor was today questioned by the Special Investigation Team ...