Home / Current Affairs / Konkani Sahitya Akademi awards announced

Konkani Sahitya Akademi awards announced

Eminent writer Padma Shenoy, folk artiste Gajanana Mahale and artist Koni Sheshagiri Nayak are among the nine persons selected for the Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Akademi awards for 2014.

Shenoy, Mahale and Nayak have been chosen for the awards considering their significant contribution to the fields of literature, folk art and art respectively, Akademi President Roy Castelino stated.

Padma Shenoy, a prolific writer in Kannada, had made great contribution to Konkani literature as well, Castelino said. Mahale, noted make-up artiste had left an indelible mark on the field of drama, film and stage with his expertise and Nayak had enriched Konkani art form by penning and directing dramas, he said.

Others to receive the Akademi awards are Naveen Kurmbil (short story), Nagesh Kumar G Rao (poetry), J V Carlo (translation), Ashwin M Prabhu (music), Prajwal M Nayak (Yoga) and Aruna Nayak (Akashvani artiste).

The awards would be presented by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah at a function to be held in Bengaluru on January 18.

Various cultural programmes would be on the eve of the award ceremony on January 17, the release said.


Check Also

Pakistan players target first World Cup win against India

If you talk to any Pakistani player ahead of Sunday’s clash against ...

Sunanda case: Tharoor quizzed once again

Congress MP Shashi Tharoor was today questioned by the Special Investigation Team ...