Home / Press Releases / Shri Narendra Modi to Inaugurate 102nd Indian Science Congress 2015 Tomorrow

Shri Narendra Modi to Inaugurate 102nd Indian Science Congress 2015 Tomorrow

The 102nd session of Indian Science Congress at Mumbai University (Maharashtra) will commence from tomorrow (3rd January, 2015) after its formal inauguration by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi. The 05 day event will see deliberations and presentation of papers by the Scientific fraternity from across the globe.

Evidently this is 45 years after that the Science Congress is returning to Mumbai. Hence the emphasis will be on showcasing Mumbai as a science city as well besides being the financial capital of India. Mumbai has world renowned institutes like Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bhabha Atomic research Centre, Indian Institute of Technology, Tata Memorial Centre among others . All these institutes are actively participating in the Science Congress.

There are now fourteen sections namely Agriculture and Forestry Sciences, Animal, Veterinary and Fishery Sciences, Anthropological and Behavioral Sciences (including Archaeology and Psychology and Educational Sciences), Chemical Sciences, Earth System Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Information and Communication Science and Technology (including Computer Sciences), Material Sciences, Mathematical Sciences (including Statistics), Medical Sciences (including Physiology), New Biology (including Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology and Biotechnology), Physical Sciences, Plant Sciences and one Committee Science and Society.

The Congress Session will bring together Eminent Scientists, Research Scholars to popularize science and foster a scientific temperament among the Scientists and Researchers. The theme for 102nd ISC is “Science and Technology for Human Development. It is expected that the plenary sessions, symposia, sessions in different sections will be very enriching and fruitful. Several symposia on relevant themes – Womens Science Congress, Children Science Congress, Science Exhibition, etc will be organized during the session.

More than 12,000 delegates from all over the country are expected to participate in the ISC 2015. Few Nobel Laureates, a number of eminent scientists and Resource Persons from India and abroad are being invited to participate in the Science Congress.

Union Minister of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences Dr.Harshvardhan, Union Human Resource Minister, Ms. Smriti Irani. Chief Minister of Maharashtra Shri Devenra Fadanwis and Governor of Maharashtra Shri Vidyasagar Rao will be the other dignitaries to become part of this moment.

The Five days the ISC 29015 will witness Public, Plenary, Special Sessions Sectional Programmes. Under it Panel Discussion on subjects like Role of Science, Technology And Innovation in Ensuring Sustainable Inclusive Development will take place.

On day 02 Children Science Congress and Rural Innovators exhibition along with Science Communicators Meet will be inaugurated. The day 03 will witness Inauguration of Womens Science Congress and its different meetings associated by the culmination of Science Communicators meet. The valedictory sessions for the Womens Science Congress and the Children Science will be the events for Day 4th. Day 05 will see the General Body Meeting of ISCA and the closing function for the 102nd Indian Science Congress.

‘The Science and Technology for Women Development’. Women Science congress, a part of 102nd Indian Science Congress, will be inaugurated by the Hon’ble Minister DST Dr. Harshavardhana on 4th January in kalina Campus and chief guest. Dr. Shashi Ahuja Advisor DST will be the guest of honour, The Whole session is stressed to showcase the contribution of women in Science and Technology and renowned women Scientist will be delivering the lectures in this session. Ten key note speakers will share their research in the these two days with the audience which include prof. Rohini Godbole from center for high energy Physics, Bangluru who has worked on Higggs particles along with the Nobel Lauriat. The Indian diplomat appealed to the society for the greater involvement of women in the social sphere of life. “No society can claim to be a part of modern civilisation unless it provides an enabling environment for empowering women and give them equal opportunity. Science and Technology for inclusive innovation, Role of Women, it would arrive at meaningful conclusion which could provide appropraite knowledge for human progress.

A large science exhibition is being organized at the MMRDA Grounds in nearby Bandra-Kurla Complex, which will showcase various science & technology innovations by Indian firms and organizations. ISRO and DRDO will also be participating in this mega exhibition.

The Congress sessions will bring together eminent scientists, research scholars to popularize science and foster a scientific temperament. The sessions will cover a wide variety of topics like agriculture and forestry, veterinary science, earth science, environment, engineering, information & communication, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, biology, physics and plant sciences among others. Other themes of interest include science & technology in SAARC countries, biodiversity conservation, space application, GM crops and the use of modern biotechnology in agriculture , clean energy systems for the future.

One of the plenary session will be dedicated to innovation and Make In India initiative. A session on ancient Indian sciences will be attended by Union Minister for Environment, Prakash Javadekar.

2001 Nobel Prize winner in Medicine Paul Nurse from London, 2002 Chemistry Nobel Prize winner Kurt Wuthrich from Switzerland, 2009 Chemistry Nobel laureate Ada E Yonath from Israel, 2013 Nobel Prize winner in Medicine, Randy Schekman of University of California, Berkeley are notable among the celebrity guests.

2014 Nobel Peace Prize winner Kailash Satyarthi and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize winner Muhammad Yunus of Bangladesh will also be present.

Dr. Shailesh Nayak, Secretary M/o Earth Sciences and currently Chairman ISRO, 2013 Nobel Prize winner in Medicine, Randy Schekman of University of California, Berkeley, DG, Indian Council of Medical Research, V M Katoch, eminent nuclear scientist Anil Kakodkar are some of the other big names attending the ISC 2015.

University of Mumbai has made arrangements to web-cast some of the key sessions of the Indian Science Congress. A daily web-bulletin covering various aspects of the Congress will be compiled and published by the students of Universitys Mass Communication Department.


Check Also

Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu gifts PM Surakhsa Bima Yojana policies to 10,000 women on the occasion of Rakshandhan

Minister of Urban Development Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu gifted Accident Insurance Policies to ...

PM greets the people of Malaysia, on their Independence Day

Delhi  August 31, 2015 Last Updated at 12:20 IST http://mybs.in/2Rxq7ot Copy tiny ...