Home / News / India / Assembly Elections Results

Assembly Elections Results

Assembly Elections Results

Assembly Elections Results

Assembly election results: BJP wins Rajasthan, MP, Chhattisgarh; AAP stops its victory march in Delhi.

Madhya Pradesh:

The Bharatiya Janata Party has won Madhya Padesh for a third time, winning 133 of the 230 seats and leading in 30 seats when this report was filed on Sunday. The opposition Congress which had won 72 seats in the last election, has won in 45 and is leading in 15 seats.

In 2008 BJP had won 142 seats. It had later won four bye elections and gained 5 seats from the merger with the Bharatiya Janshakti Party. This is the third time in a row that the party has got a two-thirds majority in Madhya Pradesh.

Chief Minister Shivraj Chouhan, who won in Budhni and Vidisha, is all set to occupy the CM’s chair for the third time. He attributed the victory to the trust and love of the electorate. He said, “We will leave no stone unturned in developing the State further. It is a victory if our ideology and organisation… There has been a lot of discrimination against MP by the Centre and we would have gone much further had they not discriminated against us. The country and the people don’t want this central government. MP will try to contribute the maximum seats to the BJP in the Lok Sabha elections next year.”

The BSP which won 7 seats in 2008 has won in three seats and is leading in another. The party’s chief whip Ram Lakhan Singh is trailing by 24,000 votes in Rampur- Baghelan. The Samajwadi Party’s only MLA Meera Yadav has lost Niwari to the BJP’s Anil Jain by almost 27,000 votes.


Inflicting a crushing defeat on ruling Congress, BJP on Sunday got an absolute majority in the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly, winning 121 out of 145 seats results for which have been declared so far.

Election officials said that till 1600 hours BJP won 121 seats, Congress 14, Independents 5, while other parties and NPP got 2 each. BSP has won from one seat.

State BJP president and party’s chief ministerial candidate Vasundhara Raje won from Jhalarpatan defeating Congress candidate Meenakshi Chandrawat with a margin of 60,896.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot won Sardarpura seat by defeating his nearest rival Shambhusingh Khetasar of BJP by a margin of 18,478 votes.


Chief Minister Raman Singh has won from Rajnandgaon constituency defeating wife of slain Congress leader Uday Mudaliar. As far as actual results are concerned Congress is now marginally trailing. Congress has 15 seats, while BJP has bagged 18.

BJP is leading in 29 seats, while Congress in 27. So, in last couple of hours BJP surged ahead retaining many of the seats from north and central Chhattisgarh.

BJPs forest minister Vikram Usendi has won from Antagarh constituency, spokesperson Ajay Chandrakar and Bijapur candidate Mahesh Ghagra won as well.

Even after 60-70% counting is over, no clear winner has emerged in Chhattisgarh, while in neighbouring Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister has even addressed the press conference, announcing his victory. “This indeed is a nail-biting finish in Chhattisgarh,” said a senior BJP leader in Raipur.

While in other States, Congress is conclusively defeated, a see-saw battle is continuing in Chhattisgarh. At 1.30 p.m., five hours after the counting started, BJP is marginally ahead of Congress. The opposition party is down from 48 to 41, while BJP is leading in 47. An hour back Congress was leading in 48 seats.

After initial euphoria, Congress office in central Raipur has suddenly gone quiet and none of the leaders are available for comment.

Out of all 12 seats trending now in partially Maoist controlled Bastar, Congress is ahead in five seats, which is a clear gain of four seats compared to 2008. The wife of slain Congress leader, Mahendra Karma is leading comfortably in Dantewada.


The Congress on Sunday was headed for a humiliating defeat in Delhi, with the BJP emerging as the single largest party. But it was debutant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) that put up a spectacular show in the battle for the 70-member assembly that presides over the fortunes of the capital.

As it became clear that the Congress has been relegated to the third position, it was the fight for the numero uno position between the BJP and AAP. At one time, it looked as though AAP would emerge as the single largest party before the BJP nosed ahead.

The most stunning defeat was of Delhi Chief Minister Shiela Dikshit who was trounced by 25,000 votes by AAP founder Arvind Kejriwal from the New Delhi constituency.

Conceding defeat, Ms. Dikshit submitted her resignation to Lt. Governor Najeeb Jung, who dissolved the legislative assembly and forwarded her resignation to President Pranab Mukherjee.

A shaken Congress president Sonia Gandhi and her son and party general secretary Rahul also expressed shock at the results.

“In Delhi, a great deal of work was done (by the government). But the results tell us something else. We will introspect and take steps to rectify it,” Ms. Sonia Gandhi said.

Mr. Kejriwal, who had claimed that he would defeat the three-time chief minister, got 44,269 votes, while Ms. Dikshit received 18,405 votes. BJP’s Vijendra Gupta stood at third position with 17,952 votes.


Check Also

‘Like’ frauds cheated 5,000 investors of Rs 8 crore in 8 months

GURUGRAM: Police have nabbed four people, including the directors and manager of ...

Bombay HC issues notice to Google, YouTube over “judge sting” video

MUMBAI: The Bombay high court on Friday issued showcase notices to Google ...